ISO14001 is widely recognised as an international standard for sustainability and environment, but it is quite a long winded process to get accreditation. Is ISO the only option when it comes to environmental standards?

In short – no! There are other environmental standards which can be used instead of or as a precursor to ISO14001.

In this article, we’ll have a closer look at one of them – the Green Dragon environmental standard.

Enter the dragon

Green Dragon is a stepped Standard recognising effective environmental management. The Standard offers an environmental management system relevant to the specific needs of companies and organisations and rewards actions taken to achieve environmental improvements.

For many companies and organisations, the attainment of formal environmental management systems such as ISO 14001 can be very daunting, and in some cases not relevant to their business needs. Many companies and organisations aspiring to ISO14001 do not receive any recognition for the steps they have made along the way and if they don’t achieve all the elements for certification, they have nothing to show for their efforts. This is where the Green Dragon Environmental Standard plays an important part.

Levelling up

Within the Green Dragon Standard there are five levels, with each step contributing towards achievement of the International and European environmental standards ISO 14001 and EMAS. During the appraisal and audit processes for the Green Dragon Standard, there is an evaluation of costs as well as environmental performance – this means that at each stage the company or organisation will have an outline environmental management system that relates to its bottom line.

Companies and organisations achieving any level of the Green Dragon Standard receive a certificate demonstrating the level of the company’s achievements and commitment to environmental management.

The 5 levels are as follows:

  1. Commitment to Environmental Management
  2. Understanding Environmental Responsibilities
  3. Managing Environmental Impacts
  4. Environmental Management Programme
  5. Continual Environmental Improvement


IWFM (BIFM) Qualifications

This article relates to the following IWFM (BIFM) Qualification Units:

  • IWFM (BIFM) Level 3 in Facilities Management
    • FM3.02 CSR and Sustainability in Facilities Management
  • IWFM (BIFM) Level 4 in Facilities Management
    • FM4.01 Overview of Facilities Management
    • FM4.19 Sustainability and Environmental Issues and their impact on Facilities Management
  • IWFM (BIFM) Level 5 in Facilities Management
    • FM5.01 Facilities Management Developments and Trends
  • IWFM (BIFM) Level 6 in Facilities Management
    • FM6.02 Facilities Management Governance and Risk
    • FM6.11 Corporate Responsibility and Sustainable Facilities Management
Find out more about IWFM (BIFM) Qualifications