We've all seen the energy performance certificates stuck to the side of our fridges, but since 2012 there have been similar certificates issued for buildings as well.

In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the legislation behind those certificates and how it is due to change in the imminent future.

Energy Performance of Building Regulations 2012.

All domestic and commercial buildings in the UK available to buy or rent must have an Energy Performance Certificate (EPC).

Much like the multi-coloured sticker on new appliances, EPCs tell you how energy efficient a building is and give it a rating from A (very efficient) to G (inefficient). They let the person who will use the building know how costly it will be to heat and light, and what its carbon dioxide emissions are likely to be.

The EPC will also state what the energy efficiency rating could be if improvements are made, and highlights cost-effective ways to achieve a better rating. The display of Energy Performance Certificates is governed by the Energy Performance of Building Regulations 2012.
For commercial buildings EPCs must be available when:

  • Business premises are either rented out or sold
  • A building under construction is finished
  • A building is changed in any way that gives it more or fewer sections and those sections are for separate use and heated, air conditioned or mechanically ventilated

Failure to provide an EPC can result in a £5000 fine.

Similar to EPCs, under the regulations some buildings must also have a Display Energy Certificate. Display Energy Certificates (DECs) provide an A-G rating for non-domestic buildings based on actual energy use, incorporating all energy uses in the building. These must be provided when a building:

  • Has a total floor area of over 1,000 square metres
  • Is at least partially occupied by a public authority or an institution providing public services
  • Is frequently visited by the public

Examples of buildings that must have a DEC would be:

  • Local authority buildings
  • Libraries
  • Public sports facilities such as leisure centres
  • Education centres such as schools, universities and colleges NHS trusts

From 1st April 2018 it will become illegal to let or lease a commercial property with a poor Energy Performance rating.  The minimum rating will be set at an ‘E’ grade and will be based on Carbon Dioxide emissions.

Once this provision comes into force, landlords will not be able to let that property until appropriate certain energy efficiency improvements have been made.

IWFM (BIFM) Qualifications

This article relates to the following IWFM (BIFM) Qualification Units:

  • IWFM (BIFM) Level 3 in Facilities Management
    • FM3.02 CSR and Sustainability in Facilities Management
  • IWFM (BIFM) Level 4 in Facilities Management
    • FM4.19 Sustainability and Environmental Issues and their impact on FM
  • IWFM (BIFM) Level 5 in Facilities Management
    • FM5.01 Facilities Management Developments and Trends
  • IWFM (BIFM) Level 6 in Facilities Management
    • FM6.11 Corporate Responsibility and Sustainable Facilities Management
Find out more about IWFM (BIFM) Qualifications